Last weekend I went back home to visit my parents for a few days. Since my bike was there, I decided that I would take it out for a spin just like old times. I would zoom down the street, feeling the wind in my face and riding with ease. Oh how wrong I was. My childhood days of riding my bike all over my neighbourhood with gusto were long gone. Instead I found myself huffing and puffing as I pedaled. I lasted about ten minutes.

There were two main issues I noticed besides my laboured breathing. The first was the bike seat. It felt like sitting on a rock. A very hard rock that was pressed right against the bones in my butt. Uncomfortable would be an understatement. Since I am genuinely interested in getting back on my bike I definitely need to get a more comfortable seat.

The other thing I noticed was that cycling made use of muscles that I apparently hadn’t exercised in a decade. Going out for walks and using an elliptical trainer is one thing but I felt muscles close to my knee working harder than ever before. The upside to this is that I can now work different muscle groups than the ones I usually use.

I know that the difficulty I had cycling was due almost entirely to being out of practice. You never forget how to ride a bike but that doesn’t mean it’s going to be easy when you get back on.

