In just a few days I will be headed back home to stay with my mom while my brother and dad go off on vacation. This is good for a number of reasons the first being that while I enjoy the big city sometimes I just need to get away from it. I hate to admit it but sometimes the constant sound of construction, sirens, the crowded sidewalks, it’s just a bit much. It also doesn’t help that I haven’t found summer employment here so I spend most days alone.

There are some upsides and downsides to going back home. The first is that you have to drive everywhere! My hometown doesn’t believe in having good transit and the city is designed in such a way that I would have to walk four kilometres just to get to the nearest grocery store.

Another downside is that in addition to the car heavy culture I will also be surrounded by drive-throughs. In Toronto my main vice is pizza. That’s because I can dial some call centre and spend only a few seconds interacting with the delivery guy and then eat my pizza in private. I hardly ever eat actual fast food because it would involve a) walking to the nearest fast food place and b) eating it in public. Yes, I am the stereotypical fat person who doesn’t want witnesses around while I down cheese fries and 7 layer burritos.

Therein lies the problem with the drive-through. Not only am I totally surrounded by the fast food joints (McDonald’s, Burger King, Arby’s, Taco Bell and A&W are all on the same short stretch of road) but they also offer the anonymity of the drive-through.

To combat the cars and drive throughs I have come up with a battle plan.

First, I will walk everyday. I plan on starting off at 3km and then working my way up to 6km a day. I will also walk my dog but that poor old guy can barely make it around the block. But every step counts!

I will also do whatever it takes to get back on my bike and ride it at least twice a week (hopefully more than that).

And since it’s summer, I am going to take advantage of the fact that it is barbecue season. Why spend money on greasy fast food when I can be master of the grill? And I will be the master because I love to barbecue everything possible. Maybe I’ll even become one of those people who makes fresh pizza on a barbecue. I also plan on enjoying all of the delicious fresh fruit that will finally be available.

So that’s my plan. Eating right and getting exercise. It always comes back down to those two things, doesn’t it?

