Weight – 273.3

Technically that is less than last week but it’s still more than when I started which means that I really need to start taking this whole thing seriously. One of my problems is that unlike other people, I tend to think that I can just make a few small changes and somehow I will see a big change in myself. It’s really hard for me to accept that I can and have to make changes that will actually have an impact on my weight. It really is work.

Anyway, this past week I’ve been back in my hometown which allowed me to catch up with my best friend. I told her that I’ve been interested in seeing a psychologist to work through my food problems. I tried to express to her just how strongly I am consumed by thoughts of food. I gave her an example that one night I had planned to go to McDonald’s for dinner and that I probably spent 3 hours beforehand thinking about what I would order. My friend took one look at me and said, “K, that’s messed.”

And that was exactly what I needed to hear. I sometimes feel that we’ve gotten so caught up in a world of being politically correct and trying not to hurt anyone’s feelings that there are few people who are willing to give it to us straight. So I’m glad that my friend said that because thinking about food for hours (or even days, in my case) on end really is messed. It’s quite refreshing to finally hear the truth.

