Weight – 273.5 Or 274.5 This is what happens when you weigh yourself in various states of undress and try to see if your weight changes after peeing. Oh yeah, you totally wanted to know that.

Anyway, I decided today that I should do what my (ex) therapist said and start tracking calories. Thanks to the wonder of the internet, I can now track exactly how many calories I consume in a day. For the most part anyway. It’s really helpful because a lot of online calorie trackers have literally thousands of food items. And yet if you want, you can input the amount of calories yourself.

It was all this magical calorie counting that helped me discover that my morning breakfast of a cinnamon raisin bagel, light cream cheese and 1% milk was damn near 700 calories. Yep, 700 calories just for breakfast alone. I should note that I know that bagels aren’t a good choice for actually trying to lose weight. There, I said it. I kept trying to tell myself it was okay because they’re kind of low fat but they also have a gazillion carbs and even though the bagel itself was around 250 calories, I always feel the need to slather it with about 250 calories of cream cheese. And apparently getting the light cream cheese doesn’t make a huge difference.

Anyway, I’m not saying that I’m going to track every single bite that enters my mouth but at least this way I can know how much I’m consuming when I have, say, a peanut butter and banana sandwich. It’s also helping me get familiar with portion sizes. Earlier in the day I assumed that I probably added 6 tablespoons of cream cheese to my bagel when in reality it was more like 3.25. And yes, the 0.25 counts. The point of this is that I am slowly learning. Yep, I’m learning.

Also, I should note that next Sunday is going to be Thanksgiving dinner for me, even though Thanksgiving is actually on a Monday. Next weekend will be an insane combo of Thanksgiving, my birthday and a wedding where there are sure to be pakoras and butter chicken. So yeah…I’m not going to be trying to track those calories and I will be afraid to step on the scale but I’ll do it! Because I know that all 3 of my readers are counting on me.

