It’s Christmas time! Well, actually Christmas is already over but it’s only two days after Christmas and I still have two weeks off so I am in full on holiday mode. And what better time to update a blog then when I can do so at my leisure? Anyway, I hate to admit it but this year Christmas was pretty stressful for me. My mom is currently recovering from foot surgery which means that she is laid up in bed most of the time. My brother and dad both work so all of the planning and tasks fell to me. Add that to the fact that I didn’t even get home until December 21st and I was feeling pretty stressed out. I may or may not have had a mini meltdown at one point when I thought my cheesecake was ruined. But everything turned out beautifully. Yes, it was stressful to have to do all of the decorating, gift wrapping, grocery shopping, cooking and baking on my own but somehow it worked out. The dinner I made was delicious and I actually used gift wrapping as a way to take a break from other tasks (I find it strangely relaxing).

So what’s the point of this post? I’m not obsessing over what I ate and I refuse to do that, especially during the holidays. I guess what I am thinking is that it’s nice to finally take a mental break. I was a busy bee right up until the evening on Christmas night when tea and cheesecake was served and even then I’ve still had to do a lot of cleaning around the house. But things are finally starting to slow down and I am going to try to take this break to do a lot of self-reflection. After all, isn’t that what everyone does at this time of year? People start thinking about New Year’s resolutions and what areas of their lives they want to improve. Websites, magazines and newspapers all have year-end stories reflecting about what really touched our lives this year.

This definitely wasn’t the worst year for me. I excelled in my university classes and managed to get re-hired at a job I love. However, it also wasn’t my greatest year as I found myself facing the same old problems over and over again. So I’m going to take this time to be a little bit lazy (I need extremely restful breaks before I enter the winter semester) and think about how I can truly improve myself. I’m thinking that this blog may evolve into more of a lifestyle blog than just a weight-loss blog. Who knows, maybe someday I’ll be writing up posts about personal style or my favourite recipes! But as I said before, for now I am just going to take it easy, write in my own personal journal, and be thankful for what I have.

