I’ve always hated the idea of putting a deadline on weight loss. It’s almost always a guarantee that someone won’t reach a weight loss goal in the time they’ve allotted and then there is a feeling that he or she has somehow failed. On the plus side, I know what a healthy rate of weight loss is (1 to 3 pounds per week) so you won’t find me saying, “I’m going to lose 100 pounds in six months!” any time soon. But even then, weight loss is hard. Some people lose quickly while others lose only half a pound per week and almost everyone plateaus at some point. These are just a few of the reasons that I don’t want to put a deadline on my weight loss.

However….my brother is getting married this year. He’s actually getting married in only six months. And I’m going to be in a lot of the pictures. I definitely want to lose a decent amount of weight so that I can look good for his wedding. I hate the thought of being in a bunch of professional photos and being unhappy with how I look. Not only that but my whole family is going to be here and even though they’ve already seen how I look recently I really don’t want them to see me like that again. What’s weird is that I’ve been through this before. A close friend of mine got engaged in the fall of 2008 and got married a year later. I didn’t lose any weight before her wedding. My cousin got engaged in the winter of 2009 and was married in the summer of 2010. I didn’t lose any weight for that wedding either. I guess I don’t have a good track record at all for trying to lose weight before a big event but I have really been trying now (what with all my tv exercising) and I hope that I can at least lose a decent amount of weight before everyone comes for the wedding in the summer.

