I have now told not one, not two, but three people about this blog! The difference is that these are people I know in real life. I’ve always been really hesitant about sharing this blog with people I actually know because it feels very personal. It’s funny that I’m willing to share such a personal part of my life with complete strangers on the internet but not with people that I actually know. Anyway, now that I’ve told them about it I’m going to pretend that they check up on it regularly. After all, part of the point of this blog was that if I put everything out in the open then I could be held accountable. And to go back to that goal, I’m bringing back weekly weigh-ins.

Anyway, today I nearly fell right off the wagon and into an ice cream sundae. I was planning to go out to buy a few groceries and stop by Subway for some lunch. I kept telling myself I would leave but then I found myself on the couch reading a novel for one of my English classes. I couldn’t put it down and before I knew it almost two hours had passed. My stomach started growling so I had a small snack but apparently it wasn’t enough. As I walked the two short blocks toward Subway I started thinking about getting more than just a sub. Maybe I would stop by Baskin Robbins and get a brownie sundae. Or I could get a slice of chocolate cake from the grocery store. Or I could buy an entire tray of brownies!

Unfortunately this is what happens when I get too hungry. In addition to fantasizing about all sorts of fattening and sugary foods I also tend to get a bit shaky, which isn’t unusual for me. Luckily I managed to get past the cravings. After I had my sub my blood sugar slowly rose and I was able to walk away from temptation (although I still looked at all the Dufflet cakes available in the frozen food section of the grocery store). What this taught me is that I have yet another thing I need to stay on top of. It sucks but I simply can’t let myself get too hungry otherwise I feel weak and end up with some really strong cravings.

