Weight – 273.5

A few weeks ago I noticed that some of my friends were attending an “event” on Facebook. It wasn’t a real event though, they had just made a page for something they referred to as “LENT SHOWDOWN.” The all-caps made it sound pretty intimidating but I decided to join in anyway. As you can probably guess, it was a not so religious challenge to give up certain foods for Lent. My friends have been doing it for a few years so they’re pretty hardcore. One was giving up chocolate, meat and deep fried foods. Another was giving up deep fried foods, baked goods and having vegan Mondays and sugar-free Tuesdays. Since it was my first time doing this challenge I decided to go easy on myself. I gave up french fries and onion rings but not all deep fried foods. This left me open to having things like spring rolls or chicken fingers. I gave up pop which was kind of easy but I mostly just ended up replacing it with pink lemonade (among other juices). Juice is still quite sugary so a real challenge would have been to give up both pop AND juice. And as my piece de resistance I gave up bacon. This was the big one for me. I’m not sure how my bacon consumption stands up to the average joe but I like having bacon and eggs with orange juice on the weekend and I enjoy getting a BLT from Subway every now and then.

Strangely enough I seem to have gotten past the insane cravings. They actually weren’t that bad but just a few days ago I was discussing the challenge with my friends and explaining that even though I’m not a big fan of french fries, I was going crazy not being able to have them. For instance, if I got a burger combo at the school pub I had to get a salad to go with it otherwise I would be sitting there with a bunch of fries staring up at me, practically begging me to eat them. Poutine was even worse. For anyone who doesn’t know, poutine is a magical dish that consists of fries topped with cheese curds and then smothered in gravy. I haven’t had poutine since Christmas so obviously it’s not something that I eat very often. And yet here I am, dying for some cheesy gravy goodness. I also noticed that I haven’t been going to Hero Burger as much. I used to go there every Saturday for lunch and get a cheeseburger with onion rings and a root beer. But since I can’t have the onion rings or the root beer the temptation just seems a bit too strong. I’ve only been there once since Lent started and all I got was a cheeseburger and a bottle of lemonade. I’ve now been spending my Saturdays at yoga class instead.

Finally, I had originally intended on writing about how much I missed bacon. And I do miss it but all of a sudden I don’t seem to be craving it as much. I’m not sure if it’s because I had really salty food for dinner or if maybe I’ve finally made it past that magical point where one’s habits can truly be changed (it takes 21 days if you’re wondering). I was going to try to find a picture of bacon to accompany this post and I was actually kind of grossed out once I started searching for bacon images on Google. Could it be? Have I finally overcome my bacon addiction? Is it really an addiction if you only eat it once or twice a week? I don’t have any answers but it’s definitely something to consider.

And here’s one more thing to consider. I knew that Lent was supposed to make us measly humans think about Jesus and the temptation he faced from the devil during his 40 days and 40 nights in the desert. What I didn’t know is that Ash Wednesday and Easter are not automatically 40 days apart. For reals. I was bored in class one day and decided to count the days between Ash Wednesday and Easter to see how far along I had come when I found that it was actually 47 days! Apparently the way most Christians do Lent is that you are only supposed to fast or give up a certain food for six days out of the week and then you’re allowed to break the fast on Sundays. It makes more sense if you consider how hardcore Lent used to be (some sects believed that you had to give up meat, poultry, fish and even fruit and some would only eat bread). But obviously in a strictly non-religious manner it makes more sense to give up something for the full 47 days. Who knows, maybe by the end of this I will be completely over all of my cravings.

