I am a child of the 80s. True, I was born in 1984 so I missed out on the first four years of the 80s but the memories I do have are pretty awesome. Between the great cartoon characters (JEM and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles), the fun toys (I’m convinced that every toy in the 80s was required to change colour when placed in cold water) I sure remember having a lot of fun. However, one thing that I remember the most was dancing in my best friend’s basement to whatever New Wave tape her parents had just purchased.

Anyhoo, for some reason I’ve spent the last two weeks listening to a TON of Erasure. For anyone who doesn’t know, Erasure is a synthpop duo from England. Every time I hear their music it makes me wish that I could be transported back to a gay club in 1980s New York. I’m not sure if women would have been allowed in back then but whatever, the point is, I want to dance! And of course any music that makes me want to get my groove on is perfect for when I’m doing cardio. So here are not one but TWO Erasure songs that I want to share, because they are just that awesome. Enjoy!

One of the best ABBA covers ever!

I Love to Hate You. This one makes me imagine someone hitting the gym Bridget Jones style after a bad breakup.

