If there’s one thing that I’ve always read about making changes that last it’s that it’s better to make very small changes over a long period of time. That makes sense to me. I have a hard time imagining myself suddenly giving up all sweets and fatty foods and exercising five times a week and doing it for the rest of my life. Actually, I don’t ever plan on giving up all sweets and fatty foods but I do want to cut back on them.

It has also occurred to me that I tend to do better with the idea of adding new foods to my diet rather than focusing on what to take out. After all, if I fill up on fruits and vegetables that doesn’t really leave much room for junk food. So with that in mind I have made two small changes to my diet. Everyday I have been making myself eat an apple as a snack and have a bowl of salad before dinner. Remember this is all about baby steps so while those two changes may not seem like much I feel like they are making a difference. Tonight I was tempted to skip out on my salad but then I realized that I was actually craving it. And that’s kind of the point. As my body gets used to eating healthy foods more often I will start to feel like I want to eat them rather than that I am supposed to eat them. So that’s what I’m working on right now. It’s all about making small changes, bit by bit, day after day.

image source

