In my last post I mentioned that at this time of year I like to put peppermint into as many food and drink items as I can. I’m not the only one. Around this time Starbucks brings back their famous peppermint mocha. I would drink these everyday if I could. But seeing as how I am not some fancy pants rich girl I can’t justify spending upwards of $35 dollars a week on these drinks. Thankfully, all I had to do was search online and I found a great recipe for peppermint chocolate coffee from Paula Deen’s website. Here’s my version, as adapted from her recipe.

In a coffee cup, pour 1-2 tablespoons of peppermint syrup and then add a big squeeze of chocolate syrup. Yes, I mean regular old Nesquik or Hershey’s syrup, let’s not put up any pretences of fanciness. Brew a regular cup of coffee and pour it into your cup. Add some milk or cream on top and give everything a little stir and voila! It’s cheap, simple and easy.

Now for one last bit of advice. For the love of peppermint, do not buy peppermint syrup! I found myself traipsing all over Toronto (and by all over I mean my tiny neighbourhood) looking for peppermint syrup. I found one place that had it for sale and it was $20 for a single bottle! There was no way I was going to do that. Instead of shelling out money, I decided to make my own and it’s very simple. Here’s how you do it:

Dissolve one cup of sugar into one cup of water in a saucepan. Bring it to a boil and stir it a little bit. Let it boil for a little while (at least 5 minutes) before taking it off the heat. Then stir in one tablespoon of peppermint extract. Now don’t get crazy with the peppermint extract. Recently I put in two tablespoons and it was just a little too intense, even for me.

Let the mixture cool down to room temperature, then transfer it into a mason jar and put it in the fridge. Now you have your very own peppermint syrup and it’s so cheap to make I can’t even calculate how much a single batch would cost.

So there you go. Obviously this doesn’t taste exactly like a peppermint mocha but it’s still delicious and I don’t have to go out into the cold and spend any money to get it.

