Tags

Do you ever have one of those days when everything seems to go just the way you want? Today was one of those days. Now granted it mostly revolved around shopping but what the heck, I’ll take it.

It started with me going to the mall. I realized I’ve been shopping a lot recently which is kind of funny because almost none of it has been Christmas shopping. Today I had one last Christmas present to buy (sugar free Laura Secord chocolates for my diabetic grandfather) but then I was on my way to getting cheap pyjama pants from Old Navy. I also picked up a free gift from The Body Shop.

My trip to the mall went very smoothly and I think I figured out the secret. If possible, shop at a time when you don’t have any time constraints. It’s almost a guarantee that when you are in a hurry you will end up in line behind someone who is using a debit card to pay for a $5 purchase and of course the card won’t work and all of the other cashiers will be busy and you’ll start feeling annoyed by everyone and everything around you.

Today I decided to take my time. I drove to the mall at a nice casual pace (keeping up with the speed limit but not gunning it down the expressway) and enjoyed listening to Christmas music on my way there. By the time Bing Crosby came on singing “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas” I couldn’t help but have a huge grin on my face.

After my little mall trip I went to get groceries. I was bracing myself for a bit of mayhem but surprisingly the store wasn’t very busy at all. As if that wasn’t good enough almost all of the groceries I needed to buy were on sale and the store was having a “no tax” day, which means a lot here in Ontario.

And I had to end my day with one of my favourite Saturday rituals, getting a sandwich from Subway and a weekend copy of the Globe and Mail. It’s not much but it’s nice to have a day that feels productive and yet stress free.

