It’s hard to believe but there are only five days left until Christmas! Seeing as how my last two posts were Christmas related I figured I would keep up the trend and give you a list of my all time favourite Christmas movies. Let’s get to it!

6. Meet Me in St. Louis

Technically this isn’t a Christmas movie but I still think of it as a Christmas movie because it features Judy Garland singing “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” which is simultaneously one of the saddest and most beautiful Christmas songs ever written. It’s even sadder when you pay attention to the look on her little sister Tootie’s face and see that she is on the verge of tears. I don’t want to ruin the rest of the movie for you but I can guarantee that it’s a must see for any fan of musicals.

5. Miracle on 34th Street

This movie is a classic. I really can’t think of anything sweeter than a movie about a lawyer trying to prove that the Macy’s department store Santa is the real thing. I also love the line when Kris Kringle exclaims that he has great respect for psychology. As do I, Santa, as do I.

4. Scrooged

I still think this is one of the most original takes on A Christmas Carol. Bill Murray stars as a money obsessed TV executive who only cares about ratings and making as much cash as possible. The ghosts are even better, with a deranged cab driver as the ghost of Christmas past and a pretty but somewhat violent fairy as the ghost of Christmas present. If you really need to be sold on this movie let’s put it this way, it’s a Christmas movie that stars Bill Murray. Do you really need any more info?

3. Home Alone 2

Oh sure, everyone goes on and on about how great the first Home Alone was and I agree that it was a wonderful movie. But Home Alone 2 is just as good, if not better. It takes the same plot as the first movie (clever kid foils two idiots attempting a robbery) but moves all the action to New York City. What could be better than that? Plus this movie allows for some major fantasizing about visiting New York without a budget as we watch Kevin lounge around his huge suite at the Plaza Hotel, order room service, and ride around the city in a limousine while watching How the Grinch Stole Christmas and eating a cheese pizza.

2. Elf

I’m not over-exaggerating when I say that I’ve already watched this movie four times this season and I plan on watching it again. I love watching Will Ferrell as a human that was adopted by one of Santa’s elves and is now searching NYC for his birth father. I’m pretty sure that Ferrell’s huge size only adds to the hilariousness of his childlike demeanor. This is one of those movies that doesn’t go more than two minutes without another hilarious scene that will have you laughing till it hurts.

1. Muppet Christmas Carol

This is my absolute favourite Christmas movie. It just doesn’t feel like Christmas unless I watch it. I love the way this movie takes the classic Charles Dickens story, puts Michael Caine in the role of Ebeneezer Scrooge and of course adds all the quirks and comedy of the muppets. I have to admit, this movie gets me a little verklempt every year.

