Tags

When I wrote a post about my favourite things about Christmas one of the items on my list was Christmas themed advertisements. It might sound strange but given my background in advertising I spend a lot of time actually enjoying certain ads and muting the rest of them. So here’s a list of my favourites!

8. Hot Paws

This ad is simultaneously adorable and hilarious. Who wouldn’t enjoy an ad that features gloves running around like dogs?

7. Noelco

This ad is cute and simple, it’s just Santa Claus riding around on a Noelco razor. I don’t know if this company even exists anymore but I remember enjoying these ads when I was a kid.

6. Folger’s Coffee

This one’s a tearjerker. A son comes home for Christmas and wakes everyone up with the smell of Folger’s coffee. I used to see this ad all the time when I was little. They’ve even updated it. Here’s the new version which is sweet but still not as good as the original.

5. Honey Nut Cheerios

You might notice a trend here, as most of these ads are from the 80s and yet they haven’t really aged. I think I loved this ad because I always loved the story of A Christmas Carol.

4. Macy’s

Okay, this ad features Jessica Simpson and Donald Trump but it still gets me verklempt! The ad is based on an editorial that was featured in The New York Sun in 1897. A little girl wrote in to ask if there really was a Santa Claus and she got her answer. You can read the original editorial here.

3. Target

Okay, so it’s an ad for a sale but Target has been cracking me up with these Target Lady commercials, featuring comedian Maria Bamford. She pretty much encapsulates the giddiness that I feel during the Christmas season.

And although I posted it before, let’s take another look at this year’s hilarious post-Thanksgiving pre-Christmas ad.

 

2. Hershey’s Kisses

This ad is adorable. Little Christmas Hershey’s Kisses playing “We Wish You a Merry Christmas.” What more could you ask for!

1. John Lewis

This is a British commercial and I have no idea what this company sells. But if this ad doesn’t make you tear up just a little then nothing will. It is the absolute sweetest Christmas ad I have ever seen and perfectly expresses the spirit of Christmas.

