Christmas is over and tomorrow is New Year’s Eve! I say this every year but I can’t believe another year has gone by so quickly. I just wanted to pop in with a quick hello and to say that I hope everyone is enjoying the holidays.

I had a great Christmas. I cooked a big turkey dinner for my family and our friends and even surprised everyone with not one, not two, but three desserts! Everyone else pitched in with things like setting the table, clearing the dishes and serving dessert which was a huge help to me and really allowed me to enjoy the evening.

Also, I don’t want to gloat but I did make out with some great gifts this year, including a Cuisinart immersion blender, the book Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty, and of course, a Lush gift card. Just a little fyi, although some people are very averse to giving or receiving gift cards, the Lush gift card is my favourite. On Boxing Day all of Lush’s holiday items go on sale and I use my card to buy up all the two for one deals I can handle. It all works out in the end as there is nothing my mom loves more than to see someone take advantage of a good sale.

Finally, I just thought I’d share a little tidbit for anyone who’s not in the know. The term “happy holidays” was not invented as a way to avoid saying “merry Christmas” but rather was used as a short way of wishing people a merry Christmas and happy new year. The term became dates back to the late 19th century but really gained popularity in the 40s and 50s with Irving Berlin’s song “Happy Holidays” which was featured in the film “Holiday Inn.” So with that said, here is the New Year’s Eve scene from that very movie which features what is probably the best drunken dance routine ever performed by Fred Astaire.

Here’s to a safe and happy holiday and a great new year!

