Recently I found myself attempting to eat donuts in secret. Yep, this is my life. I realize that to some people this may sound downright pathetic. But it got me thinking about all of the secret eating I’ve done. I’ve heard over and over that studies show people tend to eat more when they are eating with a group of friends. I find this hard to believe because whenever I’m with my friends I don’t want to be that girl. You know, the one who is scarfing down her food faster than everybody else and asking for an extra serving of chicken wings. Nope, if anything being around other people is the only time that I become ultra aware of how much I’m eating and do my best not to eat more than anyone else.

This made me realize that pretty much all of my binging has happened in secret. I’ve gone to McDonald’s and eaten my food in the parking lot so that no one would see me. I’ve waited until everyone else has gone to sleep before breaking into a bag of Oreos. You get the idea. So it got me thinking that one of the things I would like is to eat without shame. Let’s face it, the reason I eat all of those things in secret is because I know they’re not good for me. In fact, if you have ever felt the need to tell someone that the food they’re eating is unhealthy, I’m going to let you in on a little secret: we know. Trust me, no one orders chili cheese fries for the health benefits.

So getting back to my original point, I want to eat healthier food not just for the benefits but because I don’t want to hide anymore. I want to eat the way everyone around me does, with a mostly balanced meal and a sense of enjoyment instead of shame. This doesn’t mean I am going to give up all unhealthy food though. Every medical professional I’ve ever known has told me that everyone needs a little treat from time to time. So if everyone else is getting a piece of birthday cake, then I get one too.

