Every now and then I have to stop and take a moment to realize how thankful I should be for my body. This might sound odd coming from me. I know that I have had a lot of issues and have often been jealous of girls who seem to have won the “genetic lottery.” However, for the last two months I have been taking care of my mom as she recovers from yet another foot surgery. It has made me realize how much I take my body for granted. For my mom, something as simple and natural as walking is a chore. Someday it won’t be but for now it is. I’ve come to realize that there are a lot of people in my life who have various health and mobility issues. And that’s why I now know that instead of complaining about my body, I should be thankful for it. Right now I am a 27 year old woman with almost no health issues save for some mild asthma. I should appreciate everything I’ve got and respect my body by giving it all the healthy food it requires to function properly. I want to grow stronger and more flexible and keep my body as active as possible for the rest of my life. I think that from now on, I might remind myself on a daily basis just how lucky I truly am.

