Tags

, ,

In relation to my previous post about de-cluttering, I’ve also been thinking about stuff. Most of us have so much stuff and yet instead of getting rid of it, we just keep adding more and more and more. I think George Carlin said it best in his monologue about “stuff.”

That bit of standup is hilarious but also true. So in that vein I am making a very concentrated effort to limit the amount of stuff I bring into my home. As I said in my previous post, I won’t be stocking up on many items. In fact I think from now on I will always raid my pantry to see what I’ve got before going out grocery shopping. And more importantly, I am really focusing on the overall appearance of my apartment. This means that although I want to decorate, I am going to take my time with it. Rather than acquiring ten useless trinkets that I don’t really like, I will wait until I find an item that I really truly love before buying anything. I’m really excited about this. Rather than having a big mish mash of random items I’ve acquired over the years I’ll have a few items that are very special to me. I can’t wait to begin the process of refining the space I live in.

