Tags

, ,

In the past week I feel as though I’ve gone from makeup rookie to makeup expert. Okay, that’s a bit extreme seeing as how I’m already pretty familiar with makeup. But I have always had trouble finding products that work for me so I was thrilled to finally find two products that make me feel as though I know what I’m doing.

The first product is CoverFX. After complaining to my dermatologist about my red skin she said that it wasn’t severe enough to warrant treatment (unless I really want to shell out $300 a pop for laser treatments) and suggested the CoverFX line of makeup. The makeup is a three step process involving primer, foundation and setting powder. I went to The Bay to check it out and I was thrilled with how I looked. For once my redness was truly gone and I was able to get a colour that had both pink and yellow undertones which is great for my half English half Indian complexion.

The best part is that the CoverFX line was created by a dermatologist right here in Toronto at Sunnybrook Hospital. And of course in keeping with the gospel of dermatologists the products are non-comedogenic, meaning they won’t clog pores, and they include SPF. I think that after years of searching I have finally found the perfect foundation for my skin!

The second product that I discovered, although it’s been around for a while, is L’Oréal Double Extend Beauty Tubes mascara. I already have longish lashes but my main issue was that most mascaras seem to make my lashes stick together. A friend suggested that I try this stuff because it involves a base coat/primer that wraps around each lash.

I am still not sure how but the primer has fibre thingies that appear to extend the length of the lash. After the primer has been applied I put on the regular mascara and voilà! I ended up with lashes that look longer than my natural ones but without the extreme effect of false lashes.

With the help of these products I finally have an even skin tone and some very pretty long lashes. I’ve been trying not to let it go to my head but I have to admit, I’ve been walking with a little more swagger these last few days.

*That is not me in the second photo but it’s a good photo example of how the mascara works.

 

