Tags

,

I love Sloan. I first heard about them in 1994 when I was around 9 and their first full length album, Twice Removed, had just been released. When I think of great Canadian music Sloan is one of the first bands that comes to mind. They have been a mainstay of the Canadian music scene for over 20 years and continually churn out incredible music. I have a number of favourite songs by them but I’ve managed to narrow it down to just three that I think everyone should hear.

The Lines You Amend

This is a great song that makes me feel like I’ve suddenly been transported back to the 60s or 70s. In fact if you listen very closely while watching The Virgin Suicides, a movie that takes place in the mid 70s, you can hear this song (and another Sloan song, Everything You’ve Done Wrong) playing in the background. At the very least, it is one of my favourite summer songs.

Someone I Can Be True With

This song isn’t even two minutes long but I think it’s one of the greatest love songs ever.

Cheap Champagne

Aside from the hand claps it’s hard for me to explain but to me this is a quintessential Sloan song.

Finally, I forgot to mention one of my favourite aspects of Sloan: each band member plays a little bit of everything. This isn’t a typical band where one member always sings and plays guitar while the others stick to drums, bass, etc. Each member writes and sings their own songs and they rotate as necessary. It’s always amusing to see a live Sloan show and watch as they change positions on stage.

