Tags

,

Sometimes I feel a bit embarrassed that I started this blog as a weight loss blog only to have it lead so off track. Don’t get me wrong, I love writing about life in general but I started this blog two years ago, lost maybe five pounds and then went off the rails, gained more than twenty and tried to hide behind other posts. As such, I’ve decided that I want to go back to my original focus and, at the very least, write more about body image.

 

Lately I’ve been hearing a lot about diets. I know that may not sound out of the ordinary, after all it seems as though every other week there is news of some incredible groundbreaking diet that promises you can lose weight and keep it off forever if you only eat dandelions and wild game for the rest of your life. But all of a sudden a lot of my favourite publications have had diet news. First I read two stories (one in Marie Claire, another in Flare) about the evils of sugar. My June edition of British Vogue had a surprisingly well written piece about the perils of diet culture. The latest issue of Elle had an article about attempting to find the perfect diet based on your DNA (hint, it’s a scam). And finally The Globe and Mail published a piece about which mainstream diet (low carb, low fat or low sugar) had the most long term success. Unsurprisingly the low fat diet was a bust, the low carb diet was effective but came with major health risks and the glycemic index diet was not only the easiest to maintain but the healthiest option.

All of it was enough to make my head spin and yet it got me thinking that no matter what, everyone is still looking for that quick and easy fix. Even I admit that when I meet someone who has lost a lot of weight (say at least 30 pounds) I have a tendency to ask how they did it. Occasionally people answer that they are on some crazy diet (such as one of my distant aunts who is on a diet based on her blood type) but it almost always comes down to the same two things: diet and exercise. Heck, even my beloved doctor has said that weight loss is all about calories in and calories out.

And yet, we do face certain differences. I tend to need carbs to feel full. I can eat all the eggs and bacon in the world for breakfast but if I don’t get at least one slice of whole grain toast to go with it I can guarantee that I will be hungry again in an hour. However, it can be really difficult to figure out which foods we truly need and which foods we rely on as a crutch. Eating properly is simultaneously simple and complex. To lose weight you need to burn more calories than you consume but what you need to eat specifically depends on your body’s unique needs.

I am obviously not an expert on weight loss. I know a great deal about what I can or should do but I have yet to actually put anything into action. However, once I start I can guarantee that I will report back and at the very least let you know what’s working for me.

