Tags

, , ,

I went shopping in the U.S. recently. I actually had a decent experience once I found a Macy’s but while I was browsing the one tiny plus size section of another store it hit me:     I don’t want to spend the rest of my life in the shopping ghetto. The shopping ghetto is what plus size women are relegated to, that tiny area of a department store, if it even exists, or that one small specialty boutique where we can actually find clothes in our size. And here’s the thing about being in the shopping ghetto: plus size women often aren’t wearing clothes because we like them, we’re wearing them because they fit.

 

This is something that women who fit into “straight” sizes often can’t understand. The reason so many plus size women aren’t able to properly cultivate a sense of style is because when it comes to clothing, we have to take what we can get. Putting on an outfit that doesn’t quite fit properly or just doesn’t work is far different that not being able to fit into a single item of clothing in an entire store.

I’m not trying to make this into a whiny, woe is me post. I know that plus size women have a lot more style choices today than ever before. But here in Canada the pickings are still quite slim. I could order clothes online but I usually avoid that because a) I like to try clothing on first and b) anything I order may come with $25-$50 worth of duty fees in addition to shipping fees. By the time I add it all up I sometimes pay over $100 for something that was only supposed to cost $40.

So that’s why I’m trying to change. As I’ve written before, I know that aesthetics aren’t the most important reason to lose weight. I should probably be more concerned about my joints or the type 2 diabetes and heart disease that runs in my family. But in the meantime, how I look is my major motivator. I want to feel good about my looks and I want to be able to walk into a store and know that I can try on whatever I want, not just whatever fits.

