Tags

, , , , ,

It’s been a while and pretty soon I’ll explain why my posts have been few and far between. But in the meantime, it’s October! And that means it’s time to start thinking about Halloween. Or in my case, just think about it more because I’ve actually been thinking about it since July. I’ve decided to make a list of my favourite movies to watch at Halloween. Here we go!

5. Sleepy Hollow

This is a great take on a classic. It’s got Tim Burton’s typical dark and fantastical ambiance and it even has some scenes that are rather comical. Johnny Depp is perfect as Ichabod Crane, the officer who is sent to uncover the cause of a slew of creepy murders by decapitation.

4. Donnie Darko

This isn’t a Halloween movie per se but it takes place in October and there is a scene with a Halloween party so I’m including it. More importantly, this is one of the strangest and affecting movies I have ever seen and it’s one of my favourite movies of all time. The end of the film will probably leave you confused and a bit melancholy but in a good way. Even if you don’t enjoy the film you should at least appreciate that it has one of the most beautifully haunting scores ever.

3. The Nightmare Before Christmas

Yet another Tim Burton movie! This one tells the story of Jack Skellington, the “pumpkin king” of Halloween Town. Unfortunately, Jack isn’t fulfilled by his role as the town celebrity and once he discovers Christmas Land he decides that he’ll take over the role of Santa Claus instead. Hijinks ensue.

2. Hocus Pocus

This is a movie that seemed totally obscure back when I was a kid. I swear it felt like I was the only person who had ever heard of it. Now years later it seems to have a cult following. This movie tells the hilarious story about a teenage virgin who brings three witches back from the dead. It’s a race against time to defeat the witches before they suck the souls out of all the children in Salem!

1. It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!

Okay, so this isn’t a movie so much as it was a tv special but how could Halloween be complete without it? Between Linus’s devotion to the Great Pumpkin and Charlie Brown’s failed attempt at a ghost costume it’s a total classic.

