Tags

,

Halloween has long been my favourite holiday of the year. It’s probably because I’m an October baby. For as long as I can remember I would look forward to every October 31st, constantly changing my mind about what to be for Halloween and dreaming about the pillowcase full of candy that I would amass. That excitement carried on into my adolescence when I decided that my family should go all out with Halloween decorations instead of just having the standard jack-o-lantern. I made a scarecrow for the front entrance and sat him on a bale of hay. I insisted that my mother buy not one but three pumpkins and I carved each one with a different pattern. I hung up bats, cheesecloth ghosts and plastic skeletons. And when Halloween night came, I gladly handed out candy to all of the trick-or-treaters.

Now that I’m on my own and living in an apartment things have changed a little. I don’t get any trick-or-treaters and my decorations are limited to a few small plastic pumpkins and decorative candle holders from Bath & Body Works. I have gone out in costume some years but not in others. I do tend to have a schedule of watching my favourite Halloween movies and tv episodes but for some reason I am just not feeling the same way this year.

I actually don’t get it. Maybe it’s because I started thinking about Halloween too early, as I always do, back at the end of August. Maybe it’s because I’ve just started a new job so I can’t spend all day baking pumpkin flavoured treats and re-watching my favourite Halloween specials. But for whatever reason, it just isn’t feeling like October and it’s definitely not feeling like Halloween. Occasionally I get my old spirit back (most recently it was after browsing Pinterest and whipping up a batch of pumpkin spice pancakes) but then I find I lose it all over again. So what is the deal? The only clear reason I can find is that stores are already putting out their Christmas stock. It’s hard to concentrate on Halloween when aisles are already red and green. But I’m going to keep working on it. I’ve already got another Halloween favourites list in the works and over the next two weeks I plan on watching everything I can to get into the Halloween spirit. Here’s hoping it comes back in time!

